college · Uncategorized

The next chapter

Plenty of people are in the same position as me nearly finished college so having to decide what to do next: do we go back to college for another year, do a masters, take a year out to travel, do an internship (if you get offered one), look for work in your degree, look for any kind or work to start earning money and so on. There’s so much to think about and so much uncertainty. You still have bills to pay and possible loans to repay so getting work quickly is very important. The thing that is frustrating me the most is that I can’t plan ahead because I don’t know where I’ll be, I don’t know what I’ll be doing or if I’ll be able to get time off. Applying to anywhere you can think of and hoping you hear back its a pain because so many don’t even bother to give you feedback or let you know you didn’t get it so your still waiting and hoping to hear. I know I’m not the first person to go through this and I knew it wouldn’t be easy but I’m already feed up trying and I’ve only really begun. I don’t even know what I want to do that’s the biggest problem if I had the slightest idea it would be easier to search but I really don’t know. It doesn’t help that family members keep telling me that I choose the wrong degree and that I should have done a different course they reckon I should work with children not businesses. For now all I want is to finish college get out of there and work anywhere to start earning money and if possible saving money. One thing is for sure I wont miss college to be honest I would rather have worked straight from secondary school but that just wasn’t acceptable as every needs a degree. Just need to find somewhere I can earn the money I need to earn to manage from week to week to pay the bills. I’m used to supporting myself and being independent but this will be another major step in it which I hope I don’t mess up. The one thing I have in my favour is that I have experience but will it be a benefit I honestly don’t know. I’m used to dealing with customers and have been told many times that I should run my own business so hey maybe I am in the right area after all 😛 May is going to be a really tough month finishing college, doing exams, hopefully job interviews, job hunting and so much more. Just hoping something comes up and I’m given a chance to show that I am a hard worker and will be a good asset to a business. Are you in a similar situation? Would like to hear how long it took people to get work after college and how many places they had to try before it. Any tips or advice I would love to hear 🙂

Leave a Reply

